So long, summer…

We had an awesome family vacation in Orlando at the beginning of summer, but didn’t make it to the beach until last weekend. The beach is one of my absolute favorite places to be. I love it when it’s hot, I love it when it’s cold, I love it in the sunshine and the rain. I love the peacefulness of the open sky and crashing waves. I love the way the sand and saltwater exfoliates my skin. I love to imagine the sea creatures living just feet away from me. I love standing at the edge of the Atlantic, looking north and thinking about the Titanic buried in her depths. And I love that I feel closer in proximity to God when I’m there.

When I was in high school and college, a beach trip meant packing snacks for the day, hitting the beach by 9am, and not heading back inside until it was time to shower for a late dinner. Stay out (or at least up!) late, wake up the next morning, and do it all over again! We’ve taken Cooper to the beach a few times before, but because he’s so fair-skinned, we’ve never gone and camped out for the day on a sunny day. Paul is not much of a hot-weather person, so my beach trips the last few years have been few and far between.

Before our trip last week, I talked up the beach A LOT to Cooper! I wanted him to be excited about it. And he was! He talked about it for days leading up to the trip. And when we got out to the actual beach, he totally fell in love with it. We built sandcastles, dug lots of holes, looked for seashells, took walks, and stood in the waves for long moments, just letting them wash over our feet. He kept exclaiming over how the ocean was MOVING him!! It was just the optical illusion of watching the waves rush back into the ocean, but he couldn’t get enough! We were out for about four hours and had the most amazing time. One of my personal best beach days ever!

0a1800fe27aa11e3adbf22000aaa04d4_6

6b7f1b8427aa11e3893922000aeb0bbd_6

d0604bdc27a911e38c5322000a1f8f97_6

93b9473227aa11e3951522000a1f99d1_8

While we were in the Myrtle Beach area, we decided to visit the aquarium too! It’s one of Cooper’s favorite attractions, and we had a blast.

a06ed7e6287511e3945c22000ae90026_6

2539861e287211e3a47922000ae90d5b_6

One thought on “So long, summer…

  1. Grammi says:

    Beautiful. Makes me sad we had to leave the beach area.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

